3 kids, 52 times

At the start of 2013, I was feeling project-happy and ambitious, so along with my 365 project, I decided to embark on a 52 project with the three kiddies. The goal: to take one headshot per week in the same spot, from approximately the same vantage point, under approximately the same lighting conditions (ha!), all with the focus being on the face, so that at the end of the year, I could see how they had changed (and cry my eyes out in the bathroom over how much they had grown). I was good for the first 20 weeks or so, and then when we went to Italy, I fell off the wagon and haven’t gotten back on. I’m still chasing it (the wagon, that is, and the kids too, I suppose), so I’ll let you know when I catch up to it/them. I’m thinking of possibly turning it into a 12 project, and photographing them once each month for the rest of the year. Hey, I’m embracing imperfection and adaptability in my photography projects (and life) this year — it’s a good thing, and something I’m celebrating. Anyway, I wanted to start sharing this project here, and I’ll keep updating as I decide which direction I’m taking.

Here are the first eight weeks for each kiddo. Eli added some spice into each of his, which is no surprise to those of you who know Eli. Iris, well, she became increasingly difficult to pin down as the weeks went on, so that was her way of spicing things up. And, Stella…well, what could she do but lie there? She was the most cooperative for the early shots, but now that she’s working on rolling over and crying on a whim, I have a feeling she’s got her own spicing up in store. Overall, it’s been a fun project (says the photographer, maybe not her subjects). And, I think they will thank me for it one day. Maybe 😉

ELI

IRIS

STELLA

One thought on “3 kids, 52 times

Leave a Reply

